πŸ„πŸ§  (Lace Forest)

· Ben’s Blog

01 My post about increasing the card width in Kinopio got me thinking about doing it locally with JavaScript.

This reminded me of an old project called dotjs by @defunkt. I looked it up, and it's no longer maintained, but it had a pointer to a successor: https://luciopaiva.com/witchcraft/

But wait, how is this different from user script extensions like Greasemonkey? And that seems straightforward because the former requires running a separate web server to serve the JS.

Now I'm using the Violentmonkey extension to run a script that adjusts the max-widths of cards to 320px. It needs some tweaks because it only runs when you first visit the space.

02 I'm trying to use Safari as my default browser, but a lot of extensions I want to try are Chrome-only. Kinda sad. So now wondering what Chrome-based browser should I use? I've been using Edge, but maybe I want to go with one that's not backed by a giant company.

I used to use Brave, for some reason I stopped, but maybe it's time to try again. I used Vivaldi for a while, but it ended up being buggy in some places. This is my low-key highly-ineffective way of sticking it to the man.

03 some kind of generative art thing https://makepad.dev/

04 I wrote a script that pulls all my Kinopio data and puts it into a SQLite database so I can explore using Datasette. This is really cool and deserves a separate post.