Quick Scripture Lookup

· Ben’s Blog

Usually when I'm doing Bible study, but reading through material that's not the actual Bible, I encounter lots of Scripture references that I want to take note of and look up for reading later. I made this process a little easier with a series of Drafts actions and Pythonista scripts.

# The User Experience

Launch Drafts, and type in your bible passage:

2 Timothy 1:6-7

Fire off an action to Pythonista. The Pythonista script will package up the passage query into a ESV API web service call. This call comes back with the Bible passage in plaintext. Call back into Drafts, passing along that output, and fire off a final action, which appends the result to a text file in Dropbox. Now you've got the Bible passage for reference almost instantly after writing it down:

1###### 2013-12-12-10-22-22
2
32 Timothy 1:6-7 : For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of
4God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit
5not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

Details and scripts forthcoming...